August Summary

Another month gone

It's been quiet here lately but I've been busy behind the curtains. I started programming again at the beginning of August and I have been doing it daily. I'm using Python at the moment, it's a friendly language and you can build stuff fast. Did some small simple programs like Tic-Tac-Toe and Rock Paper Scissors and a bunch of little experiments. Also coded a Pomodoro console-based app that pops up notifications (I may expand that in the future with more features.). I'm currently experimenting with a library for creating games: Pygame Zero.

Pygame Zero is for creating games without boilerplate. It is intended for use in education, so that teachers can teach basic programming without needing to explain the Pygame API or write an event loop.

It's really easy to use and fun to play with if you want to build fast prototypes. Coded a small "shoot the bird" kind of game to practice with the generation of graphics, animations, random generation, timers and that kind of stuff. At the moment I'm playing around with a top-down shooter prototype. My plan is to create a few small games with it and transition to regular Pygame. On the other hand, I discovered Lex Fridman podcast, and I'm loving it. Have heard a bunch of episodes already, especially the nerdiest ones: Elon Musk, Mark Zuckerberg, John Carmack, Bjarne Stroustrup, Guido van Rossum, George Hotz... Still have a lot of content to go through thankfully. Read a few books (full list with micro-reviews here): Rich Dad Poor Dad, Atomic Habits, Hooked, Made to Stick, Zero To One, and Never Split The Difference. My next books are: - Cashflow Quadrant by Robert T. Kiyosaki - CODE: The Hidden Language of Compture Hardware and Software by Charles Petzold - Clean Code: A Handbook of Agile Software Craftsmanship by Robert C. Martin - Masters of Doom by David Kushner - Brave New World by Aldous Huxley - Farenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury That's all for now, see you next time!